Yoga & the Importance of Schedules

Yesterday marked my 18th yoga class.  Over 6 weeks.

I know that doesn’t seem all that impressive (3 classes a week), but for me it is actually quite remarkable.  Remarkable because I have actually managed to stick to an exercise regimen for 6 weeks straight.

When I signed up for 3 months of classes, I had 3 options.

a) unlimited classes

b) 3 classes a week – come any days you want

c) 3 classes a week – you must set in stone the 3 days in which you would attend class

Option a was out because it was just too expensive.  I considered option b because I thought a flexible schedule would be best, as you never know what will arise in your weekly plans.  Ultimately I chose option c- setting 3 yoga days in stone.  I reasoned that making a set, unchangeable plan would give me more discipline.  And it was also $60 cheaper.  (Really?  $60 more to have the option of coming any day of the week?  I still don’t understand the exact reasoning of that.  But anyway.)

My yoga days have been Mon, Wed, Fri.

As I finished my class last night I felt a little proud that I made it that far, that I actually stuck to my schedule.  I asked myself why, as this has never been my case in the past.

2 reasons.  First of all, I’ve just been really enjoying the practice of yoga.  I am a complete novice, but I’ve found the pleasure of being that.  I’ve enjoyed the challenge, and I’ve enjoyed seeing even the smallest improvements after each class taken.  Since beginning yoga I haven’t been doing any other form of exercise.  Exercise has finally become something enjoyable to me.

The second reason is the fact that I did make a set schedule.  I’ve realized the importance of schedules and what a difference they actually make.  Committing ahead of time and knowing that I only have these 3 single chances a week to take a class has made a big difference.  Yes, I’ve been enjoying yoga but of course there have been a few times when I really just didn’t feel like it.  But knowing in the back of my head, THIS is one of the three ONLY chances you have this week, pushed me.  And I am a person that needs to be pushed.

I guess my point is that scheduling anything (exercise, nights-out, food shopping etc.) can make a big impact on how productive you are.  I really recommend it.  Especially if you are a lazy person like me.

3 comments on “Yoga & the Importance of Schedules

  1. kerryalina
    April 14, 2012 at 12:40 pm #

    I found schedules helped heaps when I started stepping up my practice. I’d put 3 or 4 classes in my calendar each week and then make a “rule” that I could move them to a different day during the same week… but I couldn’t DELETE them. Instant improvement in my attendance levels 🙂

    • makings of a better life
      April 15, 2012 at 11:01 am #

      Setting rules for yourself is sometimes so, so great! However, your dedication to yoga TRUMPS mine by heaps and bounds. I’m very, very impressed! Keep going! 😀

      • kerryalina
        April 17, 2012 at 1:22 pm #

        Awwwww thanks! But honestly, I found going to class 3-4 times a week harder to organise than a challenge. It takes a lot of work to arrange your social life around it, whereas when you’re going every day you just give up all hope of
        ever having a life 🙂 Congrats!!

Leave a Reply

