Baking Bug Bit

I haven’t baked in ages.  The last thing I made were brownies from a box (Duncan Hines Extra Fudgy!) and I can barely remember when that even was.

I used to love baking.  And the lack of it in my recent life had made me sad yet not sad enough to actually get back in the kitchen.  I actually feel as though I’ve lost confidence in my ability.  Not that I was ever great, but I’m certainly even less great with the crappy cooking supplies/oven/etc. that I have in Korea.  Anyway.

Finally, tonight the baking bug bit me and I felt the urge.  The plan was to make a loaf of zucchini bread using this recipe.  I followed the recipe exactly except omitted nutmeg (didn’t have it) and used dried cranberries instead of raisins (much better).  It was my first time baking vegan!  I put my ground flax seeds to use.  Once I had the batter pan ready, I realized I had no loaf pan or paper loaf pans I usually use.  So muffins it would be.

In the end, I think they turned out great.  They don’t seem as dense as the loaf in the original recipe.  I’m not sure if that’s better or not.  They’re not overly sweet, moist, slightly cinnamony and the occasional walnut and cranberry is a nice touch.  These will be great coupled with a morning coffee.  I like knowing I’m eating a (hidden) vegetable in my breakfast.

3 comments on “Baking Bug Bit

  1. kerryalina
    April 11, 2012 at 11:14 pm #

    Oh man, they look great! Definitely bookmarking this recipe 🙂

    • makings of a better life
      April 11, 2012 at 11:39 pm #

      yea they came out pretty well 🙂 delicious and not something you feel like is weighing you down like at a bakery. btw- i’ve been using your advice about “locking the knee.” it is strange because the instructor doesn’t emphasize that, but rather, keep your leg straight. It’s confusing to me because I don’t know where I should be apply most of my pressure.. but anyway, I’ve been trying to focus on that! Thanks!

      • kerryalina
        April 12, 2012 at 2:20 pm #

        Yay, that’s great! Don’t really think about where you’re applying pressure – just concentrate on keeping those thigh muscles contracted. In Pranayama and the balancing series, you’ll be a lot more stable. And in poses like Standing Separate Leg Stretching and Paschimottanasana you’ll find that you’re able to stretch the hamstrings a lot more 🙂 Really glad it helped!

Leave a comment