No one like her.

This little mini-story is just one of the reasons why I love her.

I had learned from various skype sessions just how much she loves playing games on her iPhone.  This wasn’t much of a surprise to me because I know she loves her Wii just the same.  But the one iPhone game she liked most was something called Pet Hotel (?).  Her eyes lit up as she told me about this pet hotel she was building.  Her enthusiasm was obvious.

Even at one point, over skype, I was speaking to her but her eyes were looking downward, fixated on something.  “What are you doing?”  I asked.  “Oh….nothing…”  she said, eyes yearning to look down again.  “Well, what are you looking at?  You’re doing something…”  I said.  She replied with something like, “Well… I have to check on my doggies!  My hotel is so busy!”  She was deeply engaged in Pet Hotel even while skyping with someone.  Me, no less.

I laughed to myself, knowing that only she could be so enthusiastic about building a virtual pet hotel.  I have no idea what goes on in the game Pet Hotel but I can imagine it’s enthralling things like buying new dog beds, getting new toys or feeding pets their dinner.

I know she took it to heart each time a new pet arrived (her hotel was getting bigger!).  I could imagine her excitement over the addition of new rooms.  I could imagine how proud and happy she would feel with each treat, coin, or whatever earned.  One thing about her is that she has this awesome ability to draw amazing excitement from the littlest or silliest things.  It is one of her most endearing qualities.

Since newly acquiring an iPhone myself, I downloaded the “Draw Something” application and instantly became addicted.  After starting games with all my friends, I immediately thought to play with her.  So I sent an email telling her to download the Draw Something app.  She emailed me back.

Her:  “Is it free?”

Me:  “Yea, its free.. like your beloved pet hotel game…..  Its fun, lets play together.”

Her:  “Pet hotel is not free.  iTunes gave me over $500 in charges.”

Me:  “WHAT?!”

I soon learned what happened to her.  She had been buying treats and bones for her pets.  However, not realizing that the money she was using to buy these bones was actual, real money.  As in- dollar signs being added to her credit card bill.  True to her nature, she naively thought she was using pretend money, the pretend coins she’d been working so hard to earn.  Turns out, 1 “bunch of treats” costs 99 real pennies.

If you know me well, you probably know her fairly well too.  And if you know her fairly well, you’ll know why this all is just too unsurprising, and slightly comical.

The thing is- she never fails to make me laugh.  Yet she does it unknowingly and without trying…. because it is just her.  What I’ve come to realize is that it is her big heart and whimsical, loving attitude that make her so endearingly and loveably funny.

There really is no one like her.

No one like my mom.

Only she could spend over 500 real dollars on 500 imaginary dog bones without even realizing it.  And in some weird way, her doing just that made me think more about how much I really do love her.

3 comments on “No one like her.

  1. taya
    April 6, 2012 at 3:04 pm #

    oh,,, my,,, goodness…
    that adorable story made my friday! 🙂
    i hope after $500, her pet hotel is at 5star status!

    • makings of a better life
      April 6, 2012 at 3:26 pm #

      hahaha! the sad thing is, i think she has now given up on her hotel. now she’s too afraid to play any game! i cant even get her to accept my “Draw Something” request ㅋㅋㅋ

      • taya
        April 10, 2012 at 10:20 am #

        HAHAHA! poor mama webb was traumatized 😦 start a game with me on draw something.. !user name is chamchimelt

Leave a Reply

