“Diet Yoga”

This is the name of the yoga class offered at my yoga studio.  First of all, what an awful name.  “Diet yoga.”  Vinyasa yoga?  yea.  Bikram yoga?  yes.  Hatha yoga?  yea.  Diet yoga?  no.  It’s not a type of yoga and it’s most definitely Konglish.  (I’ve noticed that many things in Korea that are supposed to encourage weightloss or fat burning are automatically slapped with the word “diet.”  Similar to how anything that is supposed to be healthy will be slapped with the Konglish term “Well-being.”  Yes, well-being is an english word but in Konglish, well-being is used as an adjective. Puzzling.)

Anyway, tonight I didn’t make the hot yoga class so I went to the 8:10 class which was Diet Yoga.  It shouldn’t be called Diet yoga.  It shouldn’t even have the word yoga involved.  The only thing that resembled yoga in this class were the yoga mats we were using….. using as stomping grounds for aerobics and sprinting in place.  Imagine running and doing aerobics in a 105 degree room?  It was seriously intense.

I kept thinking to myself, “where is the oxygen in this room?….. I can’t breathe!!!”  I was regretting coming to this class so much.  During the 2 little breaks we got, I still couldn’t catch my breath because there was no fresh air to breathe in.  It was an hour class but it felt like 3.  I kept thinking of the moment I could burst out of the sauna I was baking in.

Finally that moment came.  I was e.x.h.a.u.s.t.e.d.  I picked up my 3 very wet sweat towels and stormed to the door.  A huge deep breath of cool air.  Walked home, showered, made an icy cold strawberry smoothie, plopped on my bed and then felt really glad I made it through “Diet yoga.”

3 comments on ““Diet Yoga”

  1. kerryalina
    March 29, 2012 at 7:27 am #

    Oh wow, that sounds intense. I wonder what the rationale behind the heat was – in Bikram it helps the muscles relax so you can stretch further, but did you find it helped with more aerobic activity??

  2. makings of a better life
    March 29, 2012 at 8:32 am #

    I love that philosophy about Bikram, and I DO think the heat is helpful for Bikram classes. However, the “Diet Yoga”…. no. The aerobic activities and toning exercises we did with free weights (.5 kg) are not difficult to do… but certainly more difficult under the heat. It made you sweat more but I honestly found the heat and unability to catch my breath distracting to the overall class… :/ Oh well, I hope to get real hot yoga on Friday! I noticed you have been practicing Bikram for quite a while… so awesome and impressive, seriously!

    • kerryalina
      March 29, 2012 at 8:53 am #

      Awwww, thanks! I’ve been practicing for not quite a a year, so not all that long 🙂 But I’m thoroughly addicted, it’s terrible. I keep trying to convince friends to come to class by telling them how wonderful it is… and I’m absolutely certain that I sound like a crazy cultist.

Leave a Reply

