It’s cheaper in Korea to…

There are a few things I’ve learned are a lot cheaper in Korea than in the States.  One of those things are eyelash extensions.  In Korean:  속눈썹 연장

  • US-  I did online researching and found that prices usually start from $125-$400!
  • Korea- Most salons will charge around 50,000+ won but I got mine done for 30,000 won, which is just $26!

As most Asians do, I have straight, tiny, almost non-existent eyelashes.  I never think mascara even makes a difference to my eyes.  And they’re so short that an eyelash curler won’t even catch them.  So, if I’m in the mood, I’ll wear fake lashes.  In Korea, they’re like $2 a pair.  (False lashes are cheap too.)  But they’re a nuisance to put on all the time so its on rare occasions I wear them.

I guess I knew eyelash extensions were possible but the thought had never crossed my mind until I saw my friend donning them.  They looked great!  And completely natural.  They truly looked like they were growing from her lash line and not stemming from a synthetic strip.  She told me they last for 1-3 months.  Awesome.  I was instantly intrigued and memoed “lash appointment” in my planner immediately.

Yesterday I got it done.  The whole process took about 1 hour.  It was mostly comfortable and I think I even fell asleep part of the time.  Below is my before picture.  Completely bare eyes.  (My left eye is looking all wonky because I was tired.  And because they are just naturally uneven.) o_O

And here is my after picture.  (Left eye still wonky, still tired) Even without wearing any eye make-up, my eyes look more noticeable.  The difference is subtle (and even more subtle by the picture) because I didn’t want to be donning “night life eyes” everyday all day for the next couple months.  The lash extensions are adhered singularly to your real lashes.  So their lifespan depends on how often your real lashes fall out and how often you rub your eyes.

And with a little eyeliner.

I’m happy with the results.  And I can’t believe how many and how long my lashes are now.  I’m curious to see how long they will last.

Other things that are on my “Cheaper in Korea” list are:

  1. Acupuncture
  2. Mole removal
  3. Haircuts
  4. Manicures/Pedicures

I’ll post about these later!

6 comments on “It’s cheaper in Korea to…

  1. taya
    March 30, 2012 at 9:58 pm #

    OMG i want!! where did you get these done @? we need to get together soon and have a discussion about lash ext!

    • makings of a better life
      March 30, 2012 at 10:22 pm #

      Right near la festa! Yes let’s get together and u can c em itself 🙂 asian girls dream come true!!

  2. Joslyn Nicole
    July 25, 2013 at 10:23 am #

    Pedicures are definitely more expensive in Korea! lol

  3. adiphene best price
    June 21, 2014 at 9:35 pm #

    I hope that you’ve discovered this short Adiphene evaluation helpful and I wish you well in your weight reduction efforts.
    Assuming this is the case, we determinedly sway you to read the whole page.
    Uptil now no individual has actually been captured with any negative effects.

  4. weight loss supplement
    June 22, 2014 at 6:32 am #

    It reduces fats and carb absorption, reduces urge for food, stimulates the
    metabolism promoting fats burning and offers you extra vitality.
    There are various surgical methods to combat obesity.
    Indeed Adiphene weight reduction pill is the answer for those who always
    goes on food regimen however can’t endure the meals carving hunger and the irritability gave rise by dieting.

  5. adiphene purchase
    June 26, 2014 at 6:54 pm #

    So why is being overweight such a direct link to diabetes.
    The huge distinction between Adiphene and Adipex is that Adiphene
    is a product that uses a sequence of natural and secure to use ingredients.
    Different studies have demonstrated the profits of Ginseng
    Panax Root Extract.

Leave a Reply

