What is it about Pizza?

It will always be one of my favorite foods.  When I feel down, like I did this weekend, I usually crave pizza.  Because it just tastes and feels good.  The way in which you eat pizza is partially why I love it so much.  Picking up my food with my hands and taking a giant and satisfying bite.  I feel similarly when I bite into a really good sandwich or burger.  Holding your food and taking a bite just feels right.

Ever since learning that 1 Dominos pizza crust alone has 40 grams of fat, I’ve started to put down my phone.  So tonight I made pizza again and used a new dough recipe found here, which was recommended to me by a reader (thanks!)  I made slight variations- I reduced the salt a smidge, used only 1 T of oil, and subbed 1 cup of the flour with whole wheat flour.  It came out wonderfully thick and doughy, which is exactly what the stomach wants when your mind is feeling bleh.

I topped it with mozzarella cheese, onions, zucchini, spinach and mushrooms.  And, of course, made it snow Kraft parmesan cheese.

Leave a Reply

