That Expensive “Tea”

It’s been 1 week since I began my Chinese medicine regimen in hopes to cure my migraines.  Acupuncture and Chinese herbal tea.  When I went for my first consultation, the doctor recommended 1 month of acupuncture (3 x week) and this tea (2 x day).

Last Monday my $180 tea arrived.  It came pre-made and packaged in individual servings.  They look like not-fun Capri Suns.  I got 39 of them.  I’m convinced I was supposed to get 40, and they gipped me one.  If you do the math, it’s like $4.60 a serving.  “This is more expensive than a coffee at Starbucks,” I thought.

Once I took my first sip it occurred to me that I shouldn’t even be comparing this to Starbucks, because this is not tea.  This is just medicine.  The taste is indescribable.  I’ve drank it 16 times now, and each time I haven’t been able to come up with a comparable taste.  It’s just terribly, terribly bad.

You prepare it by letting the pouch sit in hot water for a few minutes, then pour it into a glass and enjoy.  Fortunately the volume isn’t so great so I can usually take 3 giant gulps and be done with it.  “Tea” in my right hand and something sweet in my left hand to chase it with.  It’s like how I took shots in college and went dancing, except now the taste is worse than tequila and I head out to work (or bed).  Doubly sucking.

It also came with this note attached:

Which says I’m not to drink any alcohol.  See you soon, wine.  Or eat any fried chicken, fried beef, fried pork, or anything else fried.  Goodbye dinners like last weekend.

Well, as an update:  It’s been 1 week, 56 needles, 16 cups of “tea,” and 3 (very hot) hot yoga classes.  And within this past week I had 4 migraine attacks that lasted for about 24 hours each.  I ended last night with one and I was beginning to feel hopeless.  But, it has been just one week.  So I’m holding my hopes for improvement soon.

And no matter how terrible that “tea” is, I’ll drink them down like it’s a Strawberry Cooler Capri Sun, because I’m optimistic that it will in the long run I’ll later think of that “tea” as expensive priceless.

5 comments on “That Expensive “Tea”

  1. parisboy
    March 11, 2012 at 10:43 pm #

    I used to drink Chinese herabl tea. Actually, most of chinese medicine’s taste is not that good and there are lots of food not to eat during the treatment. It always make frown on your face. ^^ Hope you getting better.

    • makings of a better life
      March 12, 2012 at 9:41 am #

      Thank you! Did you think that the tea ever helped you??

      • parisboy
        March 12, 2012 at 9:52 pm #

        Usually Chinese tea change or improve one’s consitution. I think it helped me partially.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Good Results & Yoga Poses | makings of a better life - March 18, 2012

    […] 2 update.  Another week of acupuncture, chinese “tea” and hot yoga has gone by.  Last week I had a total of 4 migraines.  This week I had just 2! […]

  2. 3.5 week update | makings of a better life - March 27, 2012

    […] pouches of that “tea”/Chinese medicine, […]

Leave a Reply

