A start of something {hopefully} good

On Friday I went to a Chinese Medicine doctor.  Even my general doctor suggested trying acupuncture to help remedy my migraines, and since last week I was feeling hopeless, I decided to give it a try.

After the 2 minute wait (for some reason, you never have to wait long in Korea), I laid down and the nurse put 3 clamps on my body.  One on each wrist and one on my right ankle.  She told me not to move and left the room.  Clueless as to what was going on, I laid there, clamped, listening to constant ‘beeps’ from the machine.  I imagined it was a test of sorts.  And I was right.

After the test’s results were sent to the doctor’s computer, my boyfriend and I went in to see him.  The doctor strictly talked to my boyfriend.  I sat there, not understanding the conversation around me, and stared at the computer screen of colored charts and diagrams, supposedly my test results.  The only part of the conversation that my boyfriend had time to translate to me was that the blue circle chart showing on the screen shouldn’t be blue, but be green.  Blue meant bad, unbalanced.  Green means good, balanced.

From that point on, my eyes were fixated on that damn little blue circle, yet feeling some sort of relief.  Relief because in some way, that blue circle gave me a reason as to why my I feel like my body has been failing me recently.

Admittedly, a part of me thought this whole thing was a hoax but the larger part of me felt hopeful.  And when you’re feeling helpless, feeling hopeful is good.  So I’m putting my hope into my new chinese medicine regimen which includes acupuncture 3 times a week and drinking expensive chinese herb tea twice a day.  This regimen will last for 1 month approximately.  More on this to come…

Has anyone had experiences with acupuncture before?  I’m curious to know!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Poked & Pinned | makings of a better life - March 6, 2012

    […] I said before in this post, along with my needles, is my expensive Chinese herbal  tea, which was delivered today, which […]

  2. 3.5 week update | makings of a better life - March 27, 2012

    […] been about 3 1/2 weeks since I started my new migraine-free regimen.  So […]

Leave a Reply

