Home

Sometimes I wonder what place is my real home.  My shoebox in Korea?  My parents’ home (which is no longer the house I grew up in)?  US?  Korea?  Pennington, NJ?

I suppose 90% of the time I say home I’m referring to the States just in general.  But where exactly?  I no longer have a place of my own there and my parents no longer reside in my “hometown.”  And currently my place in Korea feels too temporary to call it home.

I came across this little quote.

Then I thought how true that seems to be.

Also, when I have these wandering thoughts about the idea of home, I’m always reminded of one particular scene in the movie Garden State.

Zach Braff: You know that point in your life when you realize the house you grew up in isn’t really your home anymore? All of a sudden even though you have some place where you put your shit, that idea of home is gone.

Natalie Portman: I still feel at home in my house.

Zach Braff: You’ll see one day when you move out it just sort of happens one day and it’s gone. You feel like you can never get it back. It’s like you feel homesick for a place that doesn’t even exist. Maybe it’s like this rite of passage, you know. You won’t ever have this feeling again until you create a new idea of home for yourself, you know, for your kids, for the family you start, it’s like a cycle or something. I don’t know, but I miss the idea of it, you know. Maybe that’s all family really is. A group of people that miss the same imaginary place.

One comment on “Home

  1. Anonymous
    February 17, 2012 at 8:03 am #

    I often find myself thinking, ” I just want to go home” sometimes even when I AM at home. I’ve come to believe it comes from our innate desire to be in that home before we even came to earth, our yearning to be home and at peace with our Creator.

Leave a Reply

